17-18 October 2019 in Washington DC, United States

A two-day international conference on assessing and optimising impact of social sciences and humanities through alliances with business, government, and civil society.



After the fruitful editions in Cardiff and Copenhagen, AESIS is proud to announce its next edition on ‘The Impact of Social Sciences and Humanities on Society’. Motivated by science policy developments of recent years, the AESIS Network started in 2017 to organize the first international conference on Societal Impact of Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH), and the signing of the Cardiff Statement on optimising this impact. Building further on the positive outcome of the SSH 2018 conference in Copenhagen in mind, continuation of the event was decided for the following purposes: to restate and champion the fundamental role that the social sciences and humanities play in society, and to call for an expanded role for the social sciences and humanities in tackling societal and cultural problems through academic research. Alan Leshner (CEO, Emeritus of the American Association of the Advancement of Sciences) will be chairing the conference. The event will bring together experts working as:

  • R&D evaluators;
  • University managers;
  • Policy makers;
  • Funders;
  • Other stakeholders of impact

For an impression on the Social Sciences and Humanities (SSH) conference, visit the webpage of our last SSH Conference, held on 4-5 October 2018 in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Group picture

Click on the announcement hereunder to view the themes and subthemes of the conference. The official programme will follow soon.

>Programme Announcement

This elaborate range of themes is made possible with the highly appreciated help of our Programme Advisory Committee :

William Adams
David Budtz Pedersen

Stephen Kid
Alan Leshner

Wendy Naus
Kenneth Prewitt
Jack Spaapen

James Wilsdon

Tim Wilson


Former Chair of the National Endowment for the Humanities
Director of the Humanomics Research Centre, Aalborg University Copenhagen
Executive Director of the National Humanities Alliance
Former CEO of the American Association of the Advancement of Sciences
Executive Director of the Consortium of Social Science Associations
President of the American Academy of Political and Social Science
Senior Policy Impact Advisor at the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
Vice-Chair of the International Network for Governmental Science Advise & Director of Research and Innovation, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Sheffield
Executive Director at the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, Canada


Conference Venue
The National Museum of the American Indian
Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20560, United States

17-18 October 2019

The National Museum of the American Indian
Independence Ave SW
Washington, DC 20560, United States

This conference is organised by the AESIS Network.

The registrations will open soon on this website.

After the first day of the conference (17 October 2019), participants have the opportunity to attend the conference dinner. Location, time and costs to be announced.

Payment of the participation fee should happen before the conference starts. You will receive an invoice together with the confirmation. Personal or company cheques are not accepted. All amounts are excluding VAT, if applicable.

If you are unable to attend the conference it is permitted to allow someone else to participate in your stead, if the name of the replacement is communicated before the start of the conference to the organisers. Cancellation without cost is possible until September 5 2019. If you cancel between September 5 and 26 2019, we will invoice €95 administration costs. After September 26 2019, you owe us the full amount.

Photographs and/or videos may be taken at the conference. By attending this event, you acknowledge and agree that your likeness maybe included in photos and videos of the event and used by AESIS in connection with communications about the conference or other AESIS communications and promotion. If you do not agree to this usage, please send us a written notification at least 3 days before the event.

Anika Duut van Goor – General Manager
Tomas van den Broeke – Project Manager

AESIS Network
Mauritskade 5
2514 HC Den Haag
+31 (0)70 217 2018